What is Nexcess Cloud Auto Scaling?

    August 5, 2020

    Sometimes you need a little more horsepower for your site. Auto Scaling allows your service to instantly handle more concurrent users, making it easier for your cloud platform to handle surges up and down in activity.

    By default, Auto Scaling is on. You may disable or enable this feature at any time through the Client Portal. See How to toggle Auto Scaling for instructions.

    Visit our website for more information about Nexcess Cloud Auto Scaling.

    What are “concurrent users?”

    “Concurrent users” refers to the number of users on your website clicking links, adding items to their cart, or otherwise actively engaging with content. It is not a reflection how many total visitors are scrolling, reading, or otherwise passively viewing your content at one time, which is often a higher number.

    What does it cost?

    Auto Scaling is enabled by default, and all Nexcess accounts receive 24 free hours. The first cumulative 24 hours of scaling for your site are free. After that, we will charge $6/hour (billed in 30 minute increments). For Nexcess flex plans, you are billed per 10-minute increment of Auto Scaling used by your site. The 10-minute increment is the minimum billable charge; if your account uses 25 minutes of Auto Scaling, you are billed for 30 minutes of use.

    You will receive a separate invoice for Auto Scaling 2 weeks before the end of your service billing cycle, at which time we automatically charge the credit card on your account. For Managed WordPress and Managed WooCommerce, you are not billed for additional time but a solutions representative will contact you to discuss a plan better suited for your traffic needs.

    Limitations

    As noted above, Auto Scaling helps your website handle surges in activity by allowing more concurrent users. This will help maintain performance for many activity surges, but it is possible some spikes in activity may push your needs past the next plan level.

    If you find that your site is consistently Auto Scaling, it is probably time to upgrade. You may either upgrade your service from the Client Portal, or contact our Sales Team, who will help find the best plan for your needs.

    If you are curious about the source of increased activity, open a ticket with our 24/7 Support Team, and they will be happy to assist you.

    How to toggle Auto Scaling

    By default, Auto Scaling is enabled. Disabling it requires access to the Client Portal. If you cannot locate your login credentials, click Forgot Password? on the login page.

    1. Log in to the Client Portal.

    2. Click Plans

    3. Select the relevant cloud account. Either click its domain name, or select Plan Dashboard from the menu toggle

    4. In the Performance tab in the Cloud Auto Scaling section, click the Auto Scaling toggle switch to ON or OFF, as appropriate. When you click on the Usage Details section it will show free time left, billed time spend and amount.

    For 24-hour assistance any day of the year, contact our support team by email or through your Client Portal.

    Was this article helpful?

    Send feedback

    Can’t find what you’re looking for?

    Our award-winning customer care team is here for you.

    Contact Support