How to Reset your Development Site Easily

    May 26, 2021

    When working on a staging or development site, one of the most common issues you might run into is resetting the site. One of the easiest plugins to use to reset a development site is WP Reset.

    Using the plugin, you can reset all of the site as well as specific parts of it. After you have installed and activated the plugin it will add a new admin menu item:


    Tools > WP Reset > Tools


    Some of the specific parts that you can reset using the tools in the plugin are theme options, delete transients, purge cache, delete local data, delete themes, delete plugins, clean the uploads folder, and empty or delete custom tables in the database.


    To access all of the reset options that the plugin provides, go to the following admin menu:


    Tools > WP Reset > Reset


    Using the site reset option in the plugin, it will reset the following on the site:


    • Posts, pages, & custom post types
    • Comments
    • Media
    • Users
    • Widgets
    • Transients
    • Settings & options (from WP, plugins, & themes)
    • Data in all default WP tables
    • Custom database tables with prefix wp_

    The WP Reset plugin also includes WP-CLI support so that different parts can be reset or deleted:


    wp help reset

    wp reset delete themes --yes

    wp reset delete plugins

    wp reset delete custom-tables --truncate --yes

    wp reset delete custom-tables --empty --yes

    wp reset --yes


    Using the WP Reset plugin on your staging or development site will make it easily reset or delete specific types of data in the site database and files on the site server.


    For 24-hour assistance any day of the year, contact our support team by email or through your Client Portal.

    Was this article helpful?

    Send feedback

    Can’t find what you’re looking for?

    Our award-winning customer care team is here for you.

    Contact Support